Skip to main content

External Scientific Committee

The External Scientific Committee is responsible for advising on the scientific activities of the Foundation and guaranteeing their scientific quality. This body does not hold any managerial or representative functions in the Foundation.

The External Scientific activity is formed by minimum of three and a maximum of eight scientists of international prestige and recognised competency in the research areas of the Foundation. Under no circumstances may they be researchers attached to or who regularly collaborate with the Foundation.


Johan Van Eldere

Prof. Johan Van Eldere

Professor of Microbiology at KU Leuven. Coordinator of International Relations at UZ Leuven. Member of the Steering Committee of the European University Hospitals Alliance (EUHA).


Ernest Arenas

Prof. Ernest Arenas

Chairman of the Department of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics and Head of Molecular Neurobiology Research from Karolinska Institute. (Sweden).


Francisco Fernández Avilés

Prof. Francisco Fernández Avilés

Scientific Director, Spanish Network Center for Cardiovascular Research. (CIBERCV). Chairman of the Department of Cardiology of the Hospital Universitario Gregorio Marañón i Universidad Complutense de Madrid.
Carmen Ayuso

Prof. Carmen Ayuso

Scientific Director of the Instituto de Investigación Sanitaria Fundación Jiménez Díaz (FJD) and Chief of the Clinical Genetics Department of the Hospital of FJD.
María Blasco

Prof. María Blasco Marhuenda

Director of the Molecular Oncology Program in the Centro Nacional de Investigaciones Oncológicas.
Carlos Diéguez

Prof. Carlos Diéguez González

Professor of Physiology at Santiago de Compostela University. Former Scientific Director of the Spanish Network for Obesity and Nutrition Research (CIBEROBN)
Stanislav Dusko Ehrlich

Prof. Stanislav Dusko Ehrlich

Professor at the University College London. Founder and former Director of the Microbial Genetics Research Unit and the Microbiology Division at the French National Institute for Agricultural Research (INRA)
Michael Manns

Prof. Michael Manns

Director of the Medical School of Hannover (Germany)
Benoit Nemery

Prof. Benoit Nemery

Emeritus Professor of Toxicology and Occupational Medicine in the Centre for Environment and Health of the Department of Public Health and Primary Care, Faculty of Medicine KU Leuven (Belgium)
Ronit Satchi-Fainaro

Prof. Ronit Satchi-Fainaro

Head of the Cancer Research and Nanomedicine Laboratory and Chair in Nanosciences and Nanotechnologies at Tel Aviv University (Israel).
Valentina Strammiello

Ms. Valentina Strammiello

Head of Programmes and Responsible of the EPF project portfolio and Youth Strategy European Patients Forum.
Asunción Mejías

Prof. Asunción Mejías

Professor of Pediatrics & Pediatric Infectious Diseases Physician St Jude Faculty, Department of Infectous Diseases, St Jude Children's Research Hospital.
Malcolm Macleod

Prof. Malcolm MacLeod

Professor in Neurology and Translational Neuroscience at the Centre for Clinical Brain Sciences and Co-chair of the Research Ethics and Integrity Review Group at University of Edinburgh.
Borja Ibañez

Prof. Borja Ibáñez

Director of Spanish National Centre for Cardiovascular Research (CNIC)
Bert Windhorst

Prof. Bert Windhorst

Full Professor, Amsterdam Neuroscience - Brain Imaging, CCA - Imaging and biomarkers / Radiology and nuclear medicine and Chair of EATRIS Imaging & Tracing platform.